Charles M. Adcock: Little Rock Central and Arkansas Tech. As a sports reporter for the Arkansas Democrat (1952-53 and 1958-61), had major responsibility for covering the AIC with an emphasis on high school and college track and field each spring. Commissioner of the AIC, 1961-1974. Organized and directed conference track and cross country championships. Had a leadership role in bringing the first national track meet to Arkansas, the NAIA meet held at Henderson State, serving as its director. In the next three NAIA national meets was head photo-finish judge. For many years was a timer, then head timer for high school local and state track meets.

Kenny Evans: University of Arkansas, 1998-2001. Arguably one of the greatest high jumpers to come out of Arkansas, Evans was an eight-time All-American and 1998 NCAA Indoor high jump champion. He was a three-time SEC Indoor high jump champion in 1999 (7-4.5), 2000 (7-0.5) and 2001 (7-1.75) and the 1998 SEC Outdoor high jump champion. He cleared his career best of 7-7 at the 2000 NCAA Indoor Championships. Evans helped contribute to eight national championship teams, including the 1998-99 squad the claimed UofA's fifth NCAA Triple Crown. He still holds the outdoor school record in the high jump at 7-6.50. He represented the United States in the high jump at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia.

Jay Flanagan: Arkansas State University. Head Men's and Women's Track and Cross Country coach since 1987. In Cross Country, American South Conference champ and Men's Coach of the Year in 1987. In Track, ASC Women's indoor champs, 1988 through 1991; Women's outdoor champs 1988 through 1990; Women's Coach of the Year 1990-1991; Men's indoor champs 1989-1990; Men's outdoor champ 1989. Sunbelt Conference champs: Women's indoor 1992, 1995, 1998; Women's outdoor 1994, 1995, 1998; Men's indoor 1994, 1997, 1998, 2000; Men's outdoor 1999; Women's Coach of the Year 1992, 1994, 1998; Men's Coach of the Year 1994, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000. Had NCAA All-Americans 1998 through 1993, 1996 and 2000. Olympic team members 1988, 1992, 1996 (2) and 2000 (4). Similar achievements at Murray State University, Carthage College and Adrian College for championships as well as NAIA and NCAA honors.

Damon Martin: UA-Monticello where he was a two time All-American in track. In 1984, he won the 800 and 1500 meters and finished 2nd in the 5000 at the AIC championships. In 1985, he finished in 2nd place in the NAIA national championships in the 1500 meter run. He was All-conference seven times and has the UAM school record in the 1500 meters, mile and 5000 meters. He qualified for Olympic trials at 5000 meters in 1988. Martin has been the head women's track and cross country coach at Adams State since 1989 and men's coach since 1996. His teams have won 32 conference titles and 14 national championships. He has been named conference coach of the year 27 times and national coach of the year 14 times at the Division II NCAA level. He has coached 397 All-Americans and 45 individual national champions. In 2003 his men's and women's teams won the Division II national cross country championships. Martin is in the top five ever in total track and cross country national championships and the Division II level.

Richard Martin, Jr.: University of Central Arkansas. Four-year track letterman at UCA. In 1974, ran 220 in 21.5 in AIC championship meet and finished 2"d in 100-yd dash with 9.75. In 1975 AIC meet, he won the 100 yard dash in 10.0, anchored the 440 relay in a school record 40.9, anchored the mile relay in 3:16.1 and finished 2nd in 220 with 21.7. He won the AIC individual high point with 23 points, leading UCA to the AIC championship. In 1975, UCA's mile relay team was 2nd at NAIA national, setting a school record of 3:08.96. Became assistant UCA track coach in 1977 and head UCA track coach in 1982.  Teams he coached won five conference championships, and he was five-time NAIA District 17 Coach of the Year Area 5 and five-time AIC Coach of the Year. Coached three national champions from 1986-89. Women's cross country championship in 1998 and named Gulf South Coach of the Year. Martin has coached thirty UCA athletes that have been named All-Americans.

Bill Runyan: Crossett High School and University of Arkansas, 1959-1962. In 1955, Runyan ran on state record-breaking 440 & 880 yard relay teams at Little Rock Pulaski Heights Junior High.  In 1957, at Crossett High School, he posted a 440 yard best time of 50.6 and he went on to win the AA State title as Crossett won the State AA championship.  In 1958, Runyan placed 2nd in the AA state meet in 440 yard run and helped Crossett win the state championship. He never lost a race on the Crossett High School track. At the University of Arkansas, he won the Southwest Conference Freshman 440 yard dash in 48.9. In 1961, as a junior, he was the lead-off leg of the Distance Medley Relay at the Kansas Relays where his team placed 3rd. He received a freshman numeral in 1959, lettered his next three years and in 1962 as a senior was elected Captain of the team. He was inducted into the Ashley County Sports Hall of Fame in February 2005.

Ken Stephens: University of Central Arkansas. Two-time NAIA track All-America. National runner-up in the 120 yard high hurdles in 1951 and 1952, becoming the first Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference athlete to make All-American two years in a row in any sport.  Stephens won four consecutive AIC championships in 120 yard high hurdles. Stephens never lost a high hurdle race during his college career except for two at the national meet. At UCA and Conway High School, he regularly competed in six events — the high and low hurdles, broad jump, 440 relay, 880 relay and the 100-yard dash. At Conway High School, he finished as the high point winner in the Arkansas high school state track meet in 1948 when the Wampus Cats finished third behind Little Rock and Camden. While his coaching career was mostly focused on football, he also coached track at Crossett in 1953, Bethany (Okla.) in 1954, Walnut Ridge in 1957-58, Conway in 1959-60 and North Little Rock from 1963-70.  In 1967-68, he coached Carl Lowe, the state's fastest sprinter.  He holds the UCA record for interceptions in a game with five. Coached UCA football teams to four AIC titles and one national runner-up finish and North Little Rock High School teams to three state championships in football. Inducted into the UCA Sports Hall of Fame in 2002.





Joomla templates by Joomlashine