Arkansas Association of USA Track & Field
Annual Meeting
October 16, 2009
Fayetteville, AR

1.     Officers present were Mike Armstrong, President; Bobby Thurman, Vice-President; John Mitchell, Secretary/Treasurer and Tom Aspel, Membership. Randy Taylor, LDR Chair was in attendance as were USATF members Jack Kern, Tom McBee, and Beau Theriot. Also present was former University of Arkansas athlete Clarence Briggs.

2.     Mike Armstrong reported that Andy Martin, USATF Director of Grass Roots Programs, has written him stating the Arkansas Association is approved for Provisional Accreditation status for the 2009-2010 time period. Mr. Martin forwarded the 2008 Association Statistical & Current Accreditation Report which reflected that our Association met 5 of 10 Required Standards and 4 of 9 Other Standards. In 2007 our Association met 4 of 8 Required Standards and 3 of 9 Other Standards.

In 2009 Mike reported we had four sports committees hosting championships. They were Youth Athletics, Men’s LDR, Women’s LDR and Masters’ Track and Field championships.

3.     John Mitchell gave the financial report and presented the FYE 9-30-09 Financial Statement which included a balance sheet and income statement. Total assets at Bank of the Ozarks was $18,044.53. Annual Revenues were $6,361.68 with Net Income of $743.31. Events sanctioned so far this year are 15, the same as 2008. Association revenue from individual memberships is up for the same period $1,731.12.

4.     Tom Aspel, Membership Chair, reported that current membership is currently 257. This is an increase from the180 members this time last year. The USATF Minimum Standard for Arkansas is 600 members.

5.     John Mitchell reported that the Arkansas Association has 7 Organizational Club Members for 2008 represented by Bell Athletics, Club Arkansas, Arkansas Vault Club, Little Rock Road Runners, Pole Vault Unlimited, DLT Events Inc. and Delta Multisport. The USATF Minimum Standard is 16.

6.     Randy Taylor presented the LDR Committee report, reviewing the formation of the Grand Prix, the state road racing championship series. His report included the relationship of the two state associations, RRCA and USATF.

7.     John Mitchell made a motion to amend our bylaws regarding the scheduling of our annual meeting. The motion was seconded. There was no further discussion and membership passed the motion unanimously by voice vote.

8.     Mike Armstrong reviewed the need for the Arkansas Association to be represented at the USATF annual meeting this December in Indianapolis, IN. John Mitchell made a motion that $2,500 be set aside for expenses associated with sending a delegation. The motion was seconded. Following further discussion membership passed the motion unanimously by voice vote.

9.     Election of Officers was held. No positions were contested and all officers have agreed to serve another term.

10.     Mike Armstrong announced the appointment of Dave Rodely as Youth Chair. A combined masters/youth championship is being planned for June to be held in central Arkansas. A Masters Committee has been formed, chaired by Doug Spencer. Members are Randy Taylor, Paul Johnson, Jack Kern, Ross Bolding, Pam Willard and Clarence Briggs.

The 2009 Association Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships are scheduled for November 14 in Conway. Tom Aspel is the event organizer.

John Mitchell
October 20, 2009



Joomla templates by Joomlashine